And then there were cookies…

Chocolate Chip cookies to be precise!

It’s been months since my last post. Since then I’ve moved with He Who Eats to Florida and now finally Manhattan. I did little cooking and baking in Florida as I was kicking back for a bit, but this was merely a precursor to bigger plans.

I would genuinely like to bake for a living, and I am using our time in the big city to test my mettle.

Perhaps I’m not up to snuff, perhaps it’s all beyond me financially, perhaps I don’t have what it takes to compete in a glutted market of gluttony.

But when such niggly little suspicions dampen my spirits, I pull a pound of butter out of the fridge and whip myself into shape again. Plus I end up making lots and lots of gooey cookies.

I am normally so good at sourcing my recipes on here, but this is one that I grabbed and completely forgot to note the source. Suffice to say, I owe them one big time because these are the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted. They’ve gone down a storm with the UK and US families & friends and I can’t recommend them highly enough.

Ingredients

1 lb unsalted butter (4 sticks here in the US)

2 cups sugar

2 cups brown sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

6 cups plain flour

4 cups chocolate chips (bittersweets)

Notes:

1. Use one giant bowl for this as it makes a huge amount of dough

2. You should either count on baking these the next day, or preparing the dough early on the same day as the dough needs to be chilled

Cream the butter until whipped

Add caster and brown sugar and beat until absorbed

Mix the eggs and vanilla well in a mug, then add to the creamed mixture

Give this a good mixing to help the cookies rise

Create a well in the mixture and pour in all the dry ingredients (that ‘little at a time’ method has only resulted in unnecessary mess, in my experience)

If you don’t have a sturdy mixer, just use a wooden spoon for this next bit and get your arms ready.

Cut and fold the mixture until the dry is just absorbed into the wet. This means that you slice down the middle of the bowl, then scoop under half the mixture and fold it over onto the other half like an omelette. Keep turning the bowl to ensure an even distribution.

Now, you can either:

1. Be really nifty and lay out a long stretch of cling film, and roll your dough into a roulade in order to have a nice log from which to cut your cookies.

2. Or be like me and throw it all into one of those turkey baster plastic bags and dig out the dough with your hands and a spoon.

Once you’ve packed the dough away, put it in the fridge (hence not leaving it in that giant bowl) either all day or overnight. Seriously, this is crucial.

Lastly is the easy and delicious bit.

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F

Take out your dough and scoop out enough to form a ball that rolls perfectly between your cupped palms. This seals it up nicely so that the cookies don’t crash and burn.

Bake for 15-17 mins or until the edges are lightly browned, wait one minute, then sink one in a glass of milk all for your little self. Now consider giving some to others.

One Response

  1. as eater of many of these, I can attest: delish!!

Leave a Reply

