Cinnamon Bombs

cinnamonmuffin1

I am surrounded on all sides of my family by cinnamon lovers. It can be cinnamon toast, cinnamon carrot cake, cinnamon in tea…and now these cinnamon muffins. My parents and sister have yet to try them, but I have to ship them somehow. My husband has dubbed them (in a voice stuttering with passion) “these may well be…no, they are…the best sweet anything I have ever tasted”. It’s an equally evocative scent for me. At Christmas my mum used to put out bowls full of cinnamon sticks all over the house, and is associated in my memory with those rare ‘cold’ December days in Florida. Stupid kids up north and their stupid snowmen (I was insanely jealous).

Click here for recipe – courtesy of Recipezaar user Kim1. I will make one addendum to this recipe, which is just to add more cinnamon. One heaped teaspoon is good, or you could go full on like me and do 2 tsps. (Buttercream icing recipe below the cut)

So get ready to bow down to your new Cinnamon Overlord – pray that it be merciful and kind!

  • 470ml powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 118ml milk
  • 60ml butter
  1. Beat softened butter until fluffy
  2. Add powdered sugar and vanilla
  3. Drop in about 1 tablespoon of milk, and begin to mix
  4. Now add 1 teaspoon of milk at a time until you reach the desired consistency – once it’s too wet, it’s a pain the bum to fix!

cinnamonmuffin2

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

